ENFJ-Personality-Type

Do the letters ‘ENFJ’ mean anything to you?

If not, I’d like you to meet the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator, a questionnaire that is meant to measure and assess how we perceive the world and make decisions. There are 16 personality types in all, each one represented by a four-letter combination.

My dad first introduced me to this idea as a kid, and immediately I loved it. I still remember taking the assessment and feeling blown away by how much of it resonated with me, down the the tiniest, frighteningly specific detail.

Since then, I’ve essentially forced everyone I know to take the test, I’ve read this book that uses personality types to help determine possible careers, and I even learned that one of my favorite bloggers in the whole wide world is an ENFJ like me.

The Manfriend and I are also HUGE Myers-Briggs Nerds. Like, shamelessly. The fist time we compared our types, two giant light bulbs lit up. We nodded vigorously and laughed as we read each other’s descriptions and re-read our own, and we couldn’t believe how true they were. We’ve always known how different we are, but seeing it on paper really drove that message home.

For his birthday one year, I created and framed two individual portraits of our personality types, in the style of word clouds. (Sort of.) The idea was to pay tribute to who we are as individuals, and to remind ourselves and each other that we differ, how we differ, and to celebrate those differences:

Myers Briggs Collage

1. I am an ENFJ. In a nutshell: people-focused, supportive, sensitive, warm, organized, diplomatic.

2. He is an INTJ. In a nutshell: independent, innovative, intellectual, decisive, ambitious, confident.

3. To this day, these frames hang side by side in our foyer. We read, admire, and refer to them constantly. For that reason alone, these babies are quite possibly my proudest creations ever.

What’s your personality type? I’d love to find out! If you’ve never taken the test, here’s a quick, free online version.

