Farewell, Starbucks

One-half of knowing what you want is knowing what you must give up before you get it.

-Sidney Howard

I somehow doubt Mr. Howard had ‘kicking-your-soy-latte-addiction’ in mind with this quote… but hear me out.

My imminent (exciting!) move closer to the city – and the increased cost of living that comes with it – is forcing me to put on my big girl panties, and take a hard look at my budget and spending habits. But more than that, I need to cut back wherever necessary.

Tragically, my daily Starbucks has to be the first thing to go.

I’m not sure when I became a daily Starbucks customer, but I know it’ll be damn near impossible to wean myself off my daily doses of warm soy deliciousness. If you’ve met me, you know that kicking my morning caffeine habit altogether would put my coworkers in imminent danger, so now it’s just a matter of finding a more wallet-friendly alternative.

What’s that, you say? Make my own lattes?

Indeed I must. I’ll soon be investing in some quality vanilla soy milk (suggestions welcome!), a decent espresso maker, and perhaps the most exciting, an awesome travel mug that makes me feel even more fabulous than I felt carrying my daily Grande Starbucks cup. (I hate admitting that I feel cooler when I’m carrying one… but let’s be serious, I really do.)

Below are some of my favorite contenders:

Travel Mug Roundup

1/2/3/4/5

Have you had to make tough budgeting choices in the past? What expenses have you cut, and what indulgences were worth keeping?

